No butter/No oil cookies


Yesterday saw me running my second ever 10k. My first having been 12 months ago, for which I virtually didn’t train due to a knee injury, this was the first year I actually made an effort. After two months spent building as much endurance as I could, I managed to get to the finish line in little more than an hour, without stopping or even walking once. Which is a huge deal for someone as lazy as I am. I want to make the most of this running bug as, knowing myself, such dedication won’t last long. To keep the momentum going I registered for a half marathon in 15 weeks: this will keep me on track for the next three months and a half and hopefully will make the transition to winter jogs less traumatising.

In the meantime I had to promise the boyfriend, who jokingly accused me of being the cause of his weight gain, that I won’t bake any sweet treats until the end of summer [not eating every single piece of every single batch I bake wasn’t an option, obviously]. But I guess steering away of sweets for a while can only do us both good. After my run yesterday I thought I deserved a treat, although I got a bit carried away and turned said treat in a day of bingeing that included a burger with chips and a ridiculous amount of biscuits. So today, when I started craving for biscuits again, I thought it wiser to break my promise and bake something healthy. I made up the recipe and wrote it down as I measured the ingredients.

  • 50g peanuts, salted and toasted
  • 50 raisins
  • 1 ripened banana, mashed
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp runny honey
  • 90g whole wheat flour
  • 80g porridge oats
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

Turn the oven on to 180˚C.
Mix the egg, the honey and the mashed banana until creamy. Add to the rest of the ingredients and combine well. Spoon into a tray lined with baking paper and bake for about 15′. That’s it!

